Night waking

Madeline has been going through a spate of night wake ups, and I’m thoroughly exhausted from it all. She must be too. Last night she woke at 12:15 and again at 4:50. Even when she goes back to bed fairly quickly, I might be up for a couple hours plagued with a to do list running through my head. This morning, Jake and I had little energy so we scooped Madeline up and brought her into our bed. She played with my blankets and tossed and turned. Then she was quiet for about 5 minutes, and I could have sworn she was finally falling asleep. I was wrong. She turned to Jake and said, “I love you daddy.” I was exhausted from sleeplessness, but her sudden declaration of love melted my cold heart.

Leave a Reply

